What Are Chakras?

Share the joy


The Seven Major Chakras

The Chakra Points first originated in the Yogic belief system in India, which found that we have energy centers throughout our body that allow Pranha, energy, or Chi to move through our system.  This belief of energy centers was not solely a Yogic belief, we see a similarity in the Chinese Acupuncture system.  The word ‘Chakra’ is roughly translated to ‘Wheel of Light’.  We have many Chakras through our body with the most familiar being the 7 Major Chakras.  We can look at Chakras as being our major energy points or the power stations within our body, when working correctly they fuel us to stay healthy, happy, and emotionally stable.  However if one or more of our Chakras are out of balance then it can lead to a whole range of mental and physical sicknesses.

The Chakras start in our etheric field which is the layer of energy that is next to our physical body and then they extend out and through our body.  A lot of people have the life goal of opening up all 7 major Chakras and living the ‘perfect life’ however at this stage in our evolution this is something that would put you in the ascended master area and I haven’t seen many of them walking around 🙂  So gradually working on them and bringing them into balance is a great place to start!

Your current situation and past experiences will influence how your Chakras sit on a day to day basis, however, it is common for the 3 lower Chakras to be open  (Base, Sacral and Solar Plexus).  Your Heart Chakra will greatly depend on where you are up to at this point in your existence as it whether it is open or not, with the current worldwide shift in energies as a whole we seem to be moving towards a more enlightened time with a greater understanding of the need for love and compassion.   Finally, your Upper three Chakras (Throat, Third Eye and Crown Chakra) will open and close depending on where you are at and whether you currently need them.

Chakras are a clockwise spinning vortex of energy and like all things can get blocked and slowed down depending on your emotional state.  By clearing out the debris in them you can feel healthier and have more energy as well as be able to grow spiritually and move forward in your life path.

Each Major Chakra is in a fixed position, has an associated colour, helps certain body organs, has emotional and physical issues related to it.  I am now going to look at the Major Chakras.  Please note that the crystals listed here to use should be easily obtainable and there are many others with varying cost factors and availability that can be used.

Click Here For A Chakra Balancing Meditation


1st Chakra – Root or Base or Earth Chakra

2nd Chakra – Sacral or Navel/Spleen or Sexual or Abdomen Chakra

3rd Chakra – Solar Plexus or Navel or Power Chakra

4th Chakra – Crystal: Heart Chakra

5th Chakra –  Throat Chakra

  • Colour: Blue
  • Name: Visuddha
  • Position: The throat area
  • Element: Sound or Ether
  • Associated Gland: The Thyroid
  • Sound: Ham
  • Related Organs: Throat, Ears and Nose, Thyroid gland, neck, mouth, teeth, gums,
  • Emotional Issues: This Chakra is our faith and communication center.  It allows us to speak our ‘own truth’.  This energy center is all about following ones own conviction or dreams, and drawing on our personal power in order to make them happen.  Speaking up for one’s self and at the same time having faith that what we are saying or our knowledge is true.
  • Blockage Signs: This is when a person is a ‘locked bag’ and has trouble expressing how they are feeling and speaking their true feelings.
  • Physical Signs: Problems with neck, shoulders, and back, mouth, and jaw issues including gum disease and mouth ulcers.  Laryngitis, sore throat, swollen glands, and thyroid issues. Raspy voice or throat, stutter, or loss of voice.
  • Crystals: Angelite, Amazonite, Azurite, Aqua Aura, Barite, Blue Apatite, Blue Fluorite, Blue Tigers Eye, Blue Chalcedony, Blue Lace Agate, Blue Quartz, Cavansite, Chrysocolla, Dumortierite, Hemimorphite, Larimar, Sodalite, Kyanite (Blue), Petalite,   Lapis Lazuli,  Labradorite,  Tibetan Quartz, Tanzanite, Turquoise,                                                                                                                      

6th Chakra – Third Eye or Brow Chakra

7th Chakra –  Crown Chakra

Chakra gemstone system energy in balane